The nominees for the 2011 Barclaycard Mercury Prize were announced on July 19th 2011. Who do you think will win?

The nominees have just been announced for this year’s prestigious award formerly known as The Mercury Music Prize. Among the nominees are well known artists like Adele, Tinie Tempah and PJ Harvey. Others include Katy B, Everything Everything and Metronomy. As well as these chart topping artists we have James Blake,Anna Calvi, Ghostpoet and King Creosote.

The winner of the award will win £20,000 and the prestige will no doubt contribute a huge amount to their future success. The prize has boosted the career of many previous winners including Primal Scream (1992), Franz Ferdinand (2004) and The XX (2010).
The full list of nominees and their albums are as follows:

“Anna Calvi” by Anna Calvi

“Build A Rocket Boys!” by Elbow

“James Blake” by James Blake

“On A Mission” by Katy B

“The English Riviera” by Metronomy
“Disc-Overy” by Tinie Tempah

“Let England Shake” by PJ Harvey

“Good Days At Schloss Elmau” by Gwilym Simcock

“Man Alive” by Everything Everything

“Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam” by Ghostpoet

“Diamond Mine” by King Creosote and Jon Hopkins

“21” by Adele
The winner is decided by a panel of industry experts and is scheduled to be announced on September 6th 2011.
Who do you think will win – let us know in the comments. Our money is on Adele, she’s just too damn good!


To Top